Taking off the label

I know, I probably have a number of people going “huh?” about the feminism related things I’ve posted and on the other hand, I know under another related lens it’s still bad that I’m trying to talk positively about relationships and sex. I just wish I could find a more positive way to be able to talk about how to fix certain things that are going on and recurring in our society. Especially in regards to the treatment of gender and relationships. The “greatest examples of manliness” often have this toxic idea of what masculinity is that you know that men just aren’t made to be. Men have emotions and are human and I adore so much of what men are, and there’s no need to put down any other gender identity to celebrate masculinity.  I know many of you see and feel that gap in what’s seen as good or healthy in masculinity too. It’s something Mjao’s spent wondering about his whole life, since even the guys in romance movies when you look through the gloss can be creepy or rude and it’s… Not what men really are. To me, there’s so much love, honor and devotion to be celebrated from guys, but for some reason it’s… Still seen as wrong. Why? Why should it be that a man’s not a “man” unless he’s oppressing or harming? I call bullshit! If a man has to put down others to feel more secure in his own identity, there’s something very wrong about his self-image, image of others, and just… Outlook on life. No one is the “other”, we are all humans and there’s no way to truly make sense out of humans, but… We try, and it seems there’s a growing industry of making men miserable and blaming other people for it. It’s like the weight-loss industry, but with a scapegoat that’s more aggressive about shaming all parties involved.

According to so many since I love guys, the color pink and want to talk about sex without getting mad I’m not really a feminist. On the other hand the fact that I don’t agree with the sex industry commodity-model of sexuality, I’m a prude and anti-sex…? I want to talk about how to improve our world and our love without getting sad or mad. Sometimes it seems there’s just… A lot to be sad about. We’re being told every few minutes who we’re supposed to be, even if it’s just a figment of somebody else’s imagination that was put together just to sell us something we feel bad about it and… That’s not cool. I know it’s not as big a surprise I don’t feel “normal” in the BDSM scene, but is it odd that I don’t feel “normal” in feminist circles either? (Even though I believe in equality, peace, and justice there are some people out there that say and do some really dumb things. Or even gender supremacists that scare the everlivin’ shit out of me. Or white middle class feminist ideas vs people who’ve faced problems they’ll probably not see and  It’s like… They keep using that word, and not knowing what it means. Sort of like saying “I’m Christian, except where Jesus talked about stuff or taught anything!” Then aren’t you actually a follower of Paul and not Christ?) Some of you know that I’m designer and writer by trade, and I’ve never been the norm even there for some reason or another. (Strangely enough, some of that interlinks with other ideas. Apparently heterosexuals can’t make art and it’s imperative to be on drugs. Where was I when this decision was made? I missed the meeting and memo.)

But I’m finding that the less I see myself in a group with a label, the happier I am with myself. Yeah, I’m a “kinky” girl. I do silly things in my sex life and romantic life, which are pretty much inseparable to me and I love it. (Yeah, I’m afraid I’m somewhere between the pranking schoolgirl and a gameshow host. It’s fun for me that way!) I’m in love with things that are cutesy and fluffy. I’m in love with honest, hard-working men. I’m in love with my new home. I’m in love with making people smile. I’m in love with finding ways to share my brain with others. (*giggles* I suppose in this case brainwashing. I’m in love with brainwashing?) As much information as others have gathered, philosophy and thought that have been collected I’d like to discuss and share… Sometimes things leave a heavy print on your heart because it’s heavy material. There’s so much that can make you sad, and we have to work together to improve the world. We need to be cool to one another, and be able to look at where our thoughts and impulses come from. Are they really from you, or is there something that was planted in you that you may want to uproot once you see it? I’m still in the process of uprooting my own baobabs. I find it’s easier if I don’t go to get a label from somebody else. I’m Skates, and I’m in love with my world. Not everything about it is great, but there are things I can do to make it better. There’s always a lot that can be done to make your world a brighter and more loving place.

To brighten up my day a bit more maybe I should cook something a little more indulgent. I could make pork, then have Mjao do cute things for his dinner when he gets home tonight. ❤

5 thoughts on “Taking off the label

  1. I want to leave a real comment (something to actually discuss), but there are too many thoughts in my head right now. It’s good to read a post that makes me think, but I don’t want to put anything down here until I can say it in coherent sentences.

    Thanks for the read.
    -Alex

  2. Yeah, I don’t understand the label that guys have to be all “You must do what I say”. What’s wrong with listening to someone and then making suggestions? I feel that one should always take the feelings of others into consideration before doing anything. That’s part of what I feel love is, considering your significant other in each decision, and making a choice together with them so both of you can enjoy life to its fullest.

  3. Oh boy, manliness. 😀
    I’ve always been short and thin so “not being man enough” used to be an everyday problem, because apparently if you don’t look like a “real man” you can’t possibly be a man. And then I saw all those “real men” herping and derping through life and I began to see that something is not right. I started wondering what does it mean to be a man… only to realise that “being a man” is not a gender-based role but more like a character type because I often met women who were/are better men than many I’ve come across (meaning that they’re more straightforward, pragmatic, disciplined and they sort out stuff swiftly and effectively) and vica versa. And suddenly, its hard to give a flying fuck about how one is perceived by others, and so one should act according to who they are rather than what others demand them to be. So yeah, I can wholeheartedly agree with what you’ve said. =)

  4. If you’re still alive out there, I just want you to know you still have fans. Your hypnosis mp3’s have been some of my favorites among my collection and I’ve been listening to them for a couple years now! I’d love to know if you’re still interested in this stuff and have any plans to re-emerge unto the interwebs! Feel free to email me at dv36363@yahoo.com for some chit-chat. <– mature, objective, hypnosis fan. P.S. This is a brilliant post and you have it more right than you know. So much of the stereotype of man-ness we are meant to be is a cultural illusion. And while it has its place, we are certainly capable of more complexity just as women obviously are beyond their stereotypes.

Leave a comment